WNRN and Rebel Records Announce Bluegrass Every Morning Compilation

WNRN and Rebel Records announce the release of Bluegrass Every Morning an exclusive 25-song compilation from the Rebel Records archives curated exclusively for WNRN. The track listing features music from bluegrass heavyweights ranging Tony Rice, Del McCoury, and Ralph Stanley whose version of “I’m Willing To Try” has never before been released on CD or digitally. Scroll down to see the full track list and support WNRN with a contribution of at least $10 a month to get an exclusive copy of this limited edition CD or digital download.

Evergreen Checkout Link
Annual Checkout Link
Annual Checkout Link

Notes From Mark Freeman (Rebel Records):

Rebel Records was founded in 1960 and was the first independent record label devoted exclusively to bluegrass music. Known for innovation and excellence over a 60+ year period now, Rebel has introduced many of the most important artists of the genre. The year that WNRN began was just around the time that Rebel Records relocated to Charlottesville from Roanoke, Virginia. WNRN has been a proponent and supporter of us, their hometown label, from the beginning and we are grateful. Rebel Records is excited to partner with WNRN to celebrate its 25th anniversary!

Notes From Rusty Cempre (Bluegrass Sunday Morning host):

It still blows me away that a radio station would allow an average Joe like me to hand-pick music and host a specialty show for the past 21 years. I was also thrilled when asked to make the selections for this disc. It was not an easy task. The Rebel Records catalog is HUGE. So after several hours on a Thanksgiving morning searching for the best Rebel tracks going back to the 60s to present day, we now have a sweet mix of tunes that shows how far Rebel and WNRN have come. None of this would have happened without the support of our listeners and Mark Freeman and the Rebel Records family. Thanks so much. Enjoy!

2022-09-24T20:56:58-04:00September 25th, 2022|

Support Grateful Dead and Phriends!

Your contribution keeps Grateful Dead & Phriends (best.show.ever.) on the air every single Saturday! Memberships include access to our weekly VIP email list with ticket giveaways, member event opportunities, free music, and more plus you can choose from our exclusive Grateful Dead & Phriends thank you gifts.

Make Your Contribution By Clicking A Button Below:

Check out our thank you gifts:

2022-09-24T08:21:18-04:00September 23rd, 2022|

Announcing In Studio at WNRN – 25th Anniversary Collection

Announcing our special edition of In Studio at WNRN, our 25th Anniversary Collection, featuring 16 tracks recorded just for WNRN. Along with favorites from out In Studio volumes 1-9, we’ve also included previously unreleased tracks. Check out the track listing below, and become a member now to grab your copy!

Track Listing:

  1. Jonathan Russell and Friends “Let’s Be Still”

  2. Phoebe Bridgers “Motion Sickness”

  3. Japanese Breakfast “Slide Tackle”

  4. Black Pumas “Colors”

  5. Neko Case “Night Still Comes”

  6. Strand of Oaks “Ruby”

  7. Greensky Bluegrass “Merely Avoiding”

  8. Lord Huron “Time to Run”

  9. Brandi Carlile “Dreams”

  10. The Marcus King Band “Homesick”

  11. Keller Williams “Doobie in my Pocket”

  12. Manchester Orchestra “Bed Head”

  13. Alabama Shakes “Boys and Girls”

  14. Illiterate Light and Devon Gilfillian “Freedom”

  15. Caamp “Books”

  16. Shovels and Rope “Devil is All Around”

2022-09-22T14:22:05-04:00September 22nd, 2022|

Greensky Bluegrass In Studio Session

Greensky Bluegrass recently joined WNRN at Mountainside Studios in Charlottesville to discuss their new album, Stress Dreams, and play a career-spanning mini-set. Listen to their performances below.


“Reasons To Stay”

“The Radio Blues”

“Grow Together”


2022-09-23T12:37:42-04:00September 20th, 2022|


Thank you to everyone who joined us for “WNRN Radio Day” in Charlottesville on September 19, 2022! We send our sincerest thanks to The Head and the Heart and Taylor Rae for sharing their time and talent, to Champion Brewery for sharing their venue, and to Creigh Deeds and Sally Hudson for joining us on this historic day!
As a listener supported independent music station, we send our sincere gratitude to all our listeners, members, donors, sponsors, board members, underwriters, and partners. Without you, there is no WNRN Radio.
Check out some pictures from the night below, and find more on our Facebook page.
2022-09-22T14:55:26-04:00September 16th, 2022|

Julian Lennon Home Studio Session

Musician, photographer, documentary filmmaker and published author Julian Lennon joins WNRN’s Desiré Moses for a Home Studio Session to promote his new album, Jude. His first full-length release in 11 years, Jude incorporates newly-written tracks with reworked demos from the ’80s that were recently discovered in a box of old tapes. The album’s title is a nod to The Beatles’ hit “Hey Jude,” which Paul McCartney infamously wrote for Julian. In this session, we’ll take a listen to songs from the new album as Lennon discusses his philanthropic work along with his family and musical legacy.


2022-09-09T17:27:10-04:00September 9th, 2022|

Announcing In Studio at WNRN Volume 10

Announcing our latest edition of In Studio at WNRN Volume 10, featuring 19 tracks recorded just for WNRN. Check out the track listing below, and become a member now to grab your copy!

Track Listing:

  1. Shakey Graves “Ready Or Not”

  2. Deau Eyes “When”

  3. The Record Company ‘How High”

  4. Good Morning “Country”

  5. Old Crow Medicine Show “Gloryland”

  6. Neal Francis “Can’t Stop The Rain”

  7. Japanese Breakfast “Be Sweet”

  8. Matthew E. White “Genuine Hesitation”

  9. Sean Rowe “Squid Tattoo”

  10. Soccer Mommy “Shotgun”

  11. Birdtalker “Old Sob Story”

  12. Leftover Salmon “Brand New Good Ole Days”

  13. Sammy Rae & The Friends “Follow Me Like the Moon”

  14. Superchunk “This Night”

  15. Lord Nelson “Tooth & Nail”

  16. Beabadoobee “Care”

  17. Jon Russell (The Head & The Heart) “Virginia (Wind in the Night)”

  18. Bonny Light Horseman “California”

  19. Lo Moon “Expectations”

2022-09-09T12:41:30-04:00September 9th, 2022|

Dogwood Tales In Studio Session

The Harrisonburg-based alt-country duo Dogwood Tales came by In Your Ear studios in Richmond to play a live set for an audience during Member Appreciation Week at WNRN. Kyle Grim and Ben Ryan, the group’s founders, shared some new songs that were written and recorded throughout the duration of the pandemic.

“25” mourns the death of a close friend at a young age, while still wanting to be grateful for the gift of life. “I just wanna wake up and feel like I’m alive / Cause I’ve got some cousins that didn’t see 25.”

Dogwood Tales’ latest self-titled EP is out now on WarHen Records, and they’ve got another EP coming out this fall. You can listen to and watch their full In Studio Session at the link below.

2022-08-22T16:08:52-04:00August 22nd, 2022|

We Love Our Members! Check Out These Photos From Member Appreciation Week

Thanks to all of our members — we love connecting with you at events and shows. Enjoy these photos from last week’s Andrew Bird and Iron & Wine Concert at the Pavilion!

2022-08-02T15:52:07-04:00August 2nd, 2022|