About Patrick Coman

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Patrick Coman has created 110 blog entries.

WNRN’s Dead Air 2.4 Premieres January 21st!

WNRN is proud to announce Dead Air 2.4 in celebration of our 24th year of great independent radio! Despite untold obstacles in planning our third annual Grateful Dead tribute we are incredibly excited to invite you to join us January 21st at 8pm for a livestream and broadcast special truly worth not  getting dressed up for! Tune in right here at WNRN.org as well as on our YouTube and Facebook pages and of course over the WNRN radio network. Thanks to our friends at In Your Ear studio, Blue Sprocket Sound, Jefferson Theater,  Academy Center of the Arts, The Front Porch, and IX Art Park for hosting performances, as well as to the artists, engineers, crew, non-profits, and local businesses who have helped support this undertaking!

Dead Air 2.4 Raffle:

In past years we’ve held a raffle during Dead Air to support fellow arts non-profits and we are proud to continue the tradition virtually this year! Click below to get your raffle tickets and you could win a $1000 gift certificate to Crutchfield, tickets to LOCKN’, Floydfest, Dead Air I & II on vinyl, GarciaLive cds, and more.

Get Raffle Tickets Here

Dead Air 2.4 Is Presented By:

with support from:

2021-01-14T12:52:35-05:00January 14th, 2021|Dead Air, Featured|

Fresh Roots Playlist – 1/2/21

Fresh Roots – New Blues on WNRN

Air Date: 01/02/21, Saturday 6-8 PM


Set 1

· Luther Dickinson & The Cooperators – Hurry Sunrise (Live 2016) (New West)
· Savoy Brown – Ain’t Done Yet (Ain’t Done Yet) (Quarto Valley)
· Nora Jean Wallace – I’ve Been Watching You (Blueswoman) (Severn)
· Dave Alvin – Dry River (Blue Blvd.) (Hightone) 1991

Set 2

· Shemekia Copeland – Love Song (Uncivil War) (Alligator)
· Sugaray Rayford – Dark Night Of The Soul (Somebody Save Me) (Forty Below) 2019

Set 3

· Kern Pratt – Don’t Leave Me Baby (Broken Chains) (Gigtime) 2015
· Kern Pratt – Chicken Heads (Greenville, MS…What About You?) (Endless Blues) 2019
· Eli Cook (with Leslie West) – Motor Queen (Primitive Son) (Cleopatra) 2014
· West, Bruce & Laing – Third Degree (Why Dontcha) (Columbia) 1973
· Mountain – Theme From An Imaginary Western (Climbing!) (Columbia) 1970

Set 4

· Kerry Kearney Band – Five Time Man (Tales From The Psychedelta) (Highlander)
· Anders Osborne – Pass On By (single) (5th Ward)
· Liz Mandeville – He Loves My Biscuits (Playing With Fire) (Blue Kitty)
· The Who – Zoot Suit (30 Years Of Maximum R&B box) (MCA) 1964
· Peter Parcek – The World Is Upside Down (Mississippi Suitcase) (Lightnin’)

Set 5

· The Bush League – Done Got Out (Here We Go…Again) (Self)
· Tedeschi Trucks Band – Part Of Me (Made Up Mind) (Sony) 2013
· Vanessa Collier – Leave Your Hat On (Heart On The Line) (Phenix Fire)
· Reverend Freakchild – Yer Blues (The Bodhisattva Blues) (Treated & Released)

2020-12-31T12:25:36-05:00January 2nd, 2021|Fresh Roots|

See Our Top 100 Albums of 2020!

Thanks to the 500+ listeners who weighed in with their Top 10 Albums of 2020! We are busy crunching the numbers and preparing to share the results during our annual New Year’s Eve countdown. Tune in all day form 8am-6pm as we unveil the list and we’ll also update this page as the results go live. While there may not have been a lot to love in 2020, artists found a way to inspire us, challenge us, and transport us. Whether it was rock’s old guard burnishing their legacy with great new albums (Dylan! Springsteen!), newer artists who burst onto the scene or broke through in a big way this year, or some Central Virginia’s best homegrown artists releasing excellent records, this list (YOUR list!) is a great snapshot of the diverse and wonderful world of music that carried us through highs and lows of this year. Thanks again and check out the list below!

Top Albums of 2020:

100-81 / 80-61 / 60-41 /40-21 / 20-1

(Full Text List)

2020-12-31T18:03:00-05:00December 30th, 2020|Featured, Miscellaneous, Top 100|

Fresh Roots Playlist – 12/26/20

Fresh Roots – New Blues on WNRN
The Best Of 2020

Air Date: 12/26/20, Saturday 6-8 PM


Set 1

· Albert Cummings – Call Me Crazy (Believe) (Provogue)

· The Nighthawks – Chairman Of The Board (Tryin’ To Get To You) (Ellersoul)

· (25) Downchild – I Got Everything I Need (Almost) (Downchild 50th Anniversary CD – Live At The Toronto Jazz Festival) (Self)

· (24) The Betty Fox Band – Green Light (Peace In Pieces) (Intercept)

Set 2

· (23) Johnny Iguana – 44 Blues (Johnny Iguana’s Chicago Spectacular) (Delmark)

· (22) Joe Louis Walker – Feed The Poor (Blues Comin’ On) (Cleopatra)

· (21) Tinsley Ellis – Evil Till Sunrise (Ice Cream In Hell) (Alligator)

· (20) Kirk Fletcher – Fattening Frogs For Snakes (My Blues Pathway) (Cleopatra)

· (19) Frank Bey – Never No More (My Dues Are Paid) (Nola Blue)

Set 3

· (18) Anthony Geraci – Living In The Shadows Of The Blues (Daydreams In Blue) (Shining Stone)

· (17) John Nemeth – Come And Take It (Stronger Than Strong) (Memphis Grease)

· (16) Victor Wainwright & The Train – Walk The Walk (Memphis Loud) (Ruf)

· (15) Kevin Burt – Rain Keeps Coming Down (Stone Crazy) (Gulf Coast)

· (14) Tas Cru – That Lovin’ Thang (Drive On) (Subcat)

Set 4

· (13) Rory Block – In My Girlish Days (Prove It On Me) (Stony Plain)

· (12) Watermelon Slim – Into The Sunset (Traveling Man) (NorthernBlues)

· (11) John Primer & Bob Corritore – Gypsy Woman Told Me (Gypsy Woman Told Me) (VizzTone)

· (10) Wily Bo Walker & Danny Flam – Ain’t No Man A Good Man (Ain’t No Man A Good Man) (Mescal Canyon)

Set 5

· (9) Bobby Rush – Shake It For Me (Rawer Than Raw) (Deep Rush)

· (8) The Proven Ones – Gone To Stay (You Ain’t Done) (Gulf Coast)

· (7) Duke Robillard & Friends – You Played My Piano (Blues Bash) (Stony Plain)

· (6) Robert Cray Band – Hot (That’s What I Heard) (Nozzle)

· (5) Shemekia Copeland – Money Makes You Ugly (Uncivil War) (Alligator)

Set 6

· (4) Roomful Of Blues – Phone Zombies (In A Roomful Of Blues) (Alligator)

· (3) Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters – Albert’s Stomp (Rise Up) (Stony Plain)

· (2) Sugar Ray & The Bluetones – Too Far From The Bar (Too Far From The Bar) (Severn)

· (1) Elvin Bishop & Charlie Musselwhite – Birds Of A Feather (100 Years Of Blues) (Alligator)




Other great 2020 blues records to check out:


· Too Slim & The Taildraggers – The Remedy (VizzTone)

· Savoy Brown – Ain’t Done Yet (Quarto Valley)

· Reverend Freakchild – The Bodhisattva Blues (Treated & Released)

· Peter Parcek – Mississippi Suitcase (Lightnin’)

· Nora Jean Wallace – Blueswoman (Severn)

· Mark Telesca – Higher Vibrations (Self)

· Mark Hummel – Wayback Machine (Electro-Fi)

· Liz Mandeville – Playing With Fire (Blue Kitty)

· Linsey Alexander – Live At Rosa’s (Delmark)

· Kat Riggins – Cry Out (Gulf Coast)

· Jose Ramirez – Here I Come (Self)

· Hurricane Ruth – Good Life (American Showcase)

· Vanessa Collier – Heart On The Line (Phenix Fire)

· The Smoke Wagon Blues Band – The Ballad Of Albert Johnson (Self)

· The Little Red Rooster Blues Band – Under The Covers (Self)

· Sonny Green – Found: One Soul Singer! (Little Village)

· Johnny Burgin – No Border Blues (Delmark)

· The Claudettes – High Times In The Dark (Forty Below)

2020-12-30T13:17:01-05:00December 26th, 2020|