About Damian Santos

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Damian Santos has created 7 blog entries.

Adia Victoria on World Cafe

Friday, September 17th at 6pm
Adia Victoria is back with an evocative brand new album, A Southern Gothic. On the next World Cafe, she talks about how writing part of the record in Paris helped give her a different perspective on the South and how she finally fulfilled her longtime dream of working with producer T-Bone Burnett. Plus, some live performances.

2021-09-10T20:25:35-04:00September 17th, 2021|

Dylan Cartlidge on World Cafe

Thursday, September 16 at 6pm
Dylan Cartlidge dealt with a lot of setbacks and challenges as he grew up in foster care in rural England. His debut album, Hope Above Adversity, celebrates his resilience and optimism with positive songs filled with infectious grooves. We talk to Cartlidge about how he overcame that adversity, and he shares live performances on the next World Cafe.

2021-09-10T19:56:35-04:00September 16th, 2021|

Fresh Roots, New Blues – 9/11/21

Fresh Roots New Blues on WNRN

Air Date:        9/11/21, Saturday  6-8 PM


Set 1

  • Gabe Stillman – Give Me Some Time           (Just Say The Word)  (VizzTone)
  • Samantha Fish – Better Be Lonely   (Faster)          (Rounder)
  • The Porkroll Project – Down In Mexico      (Papa Didn’t Raise Me Right)           (Self)
  • Elly Winiger – Black Snake Moan    (The Blues Never End)         (Earwig)

Set 2

  • Mr. Sipp – Real Man  (single)           (Malaco)
  • Lauren Anderson – The Way I Want           (Love On The Rocks)            (Self)
  • Diane Durrett & Soul Suga – Put A Lid On It           (Put A Lid On It)        (Blooming Tunes)
  • Colin Linden – 4 Cars / Boogie Let Me Be   (bLOW)          (30 Tigers/Hwy 20)

Set 3

  • Wesley Pruitt Band – Hug Ya, Kiss Ya, Squeeze Ya (Gypsy Soul)              (Self)
  • BLAST – Texas Alexander – Sittin’ On A Log / Texas Special / Broken Yo Yo / Don’t You Wish Your Baby Was Built Up Like Mine            (Texas Alexander & His Circle 1927-1951)            (JSP Vintage)  2017               (Texas Alexander – Complete Recordings In Chronological Order, Vol. 2 Nov. 16, 1928 to June 9, 1903)          (Document)   2005

Set 4

Mark Hummel’s East Bay Blues Vaults 1976-1988 set (Electro-Fi)

  • Brownie McGhee – Walk On
  • Sonny Rhodes – Look Out For Sonny Rhodes
  • Paris Slim – Guitar Shuffle
  • Ron Thompson – I’m Shaking
  • Mississippi Johnny Waters / Blues Survivors – Left My Home
  • Boogie Jake – Boogie Train

Set 5

  • Tas Cru – Where Do We Go / Stay At Home Blues             (Broke Down Busted Up)     (Subcat)
  •  Guy Verlinde – Karma’s Gonna Kick Your Ass        (Standing In The Light Of A Brand New Day)         (R&S)

Set 6

  • Christone “Kingfish” Ingram – Long Distance Woman     (662)  (Alligator)
  • Rusty Ends Blues Band – Sinner’s Strut      (Rusty Ends Blues Band)      (Earwig)
  • Gabe Stillman – Susquehanna 66     (Just Say The Word)  (VizzTone)
  • Sue Foley – Pinky’s Blues / Boogie Real Low         (Pinky’s Blues)          (Stony Plain)


2021-09-13T23:05:39-04:00September 11th, 2021|

Special Programming on The Metallica Blacklist on World Cafe

Friday, September 10th at 6pm
In 1991, Metallica became a household name thanks to the release of their self-titled album, better known as the black album. Now, celebrating its 30th anniversary, the band has released The Metallica Blacklist, featuring over 50 artists covering songs from the record. We’ll hear from Jason Isbell and St. Vincent about taking on the classic Metallica song, “Sad But True,” coming up on the next World Cafe.

2021-09-13T10:52:54-04:00September 10th, 2021|

Ron Gallo on World Cafe

Wednesday, September 8th at 6pm
Ron Gallo’s latest album Peacemeal is filled with lo-fi indie pop that’s as skeptical and insightful as it is warm and playful. Gallo joins host Stephen Kallao from his temporary home in Italy to share about how he made this album, his obsession with Easter Island, and he shares live performances. It’s Ron Gallo on the next World Cafe.

2021-09-13T10:49:34-04:00September 8th, 2021|

Encore: David Crosby on World Cafe

Monday, September 6th at 6pm
For his new album, David Crosby brought together the work of a bunch of musicians he loves—Michael McDonald, Joni Mitchell, Donald Fagen, Sara Jarosz, as well as his son, James Raymond. On the next World Cafe, he shares the stories behind why he chose each of those collaborators and discusses the song on the new record, written by his son, that immediately made him cry.

2021-09-06T14:21:48-04:00September 6th, 2021|

Nan Macmillan In Studio Session

Charlottesville singer/songwriter Nan Macmillan joins us live in studio ahead of her performance at the Southern Café & Music Hall. Hear her talk about her songwriting influences and her favorite things about the Central VA music scene before departing for New York City later this month. She also performs live with her band and debuts a new song in this In Studio Session. (Playlist: “Rain for the Heavy Heart”, “How Many Miles”, and “Timelines”).

2021-08-31T14:59:48-04:00August 25th, 2021|